Skip to main content

Biology Research Guide: Where to Start

Resources for biology students. Contact us at the Reference Desk for help with your library research, by phone at (819) 822-9600, ext. 2608 or by email at reference@ubishops.ca

Reference books

Browse the shelves in the Reference Room in the QH to QR call number range to find these books and other helpful resources.

  Front Cover
        

American insects

QL 474 .A76 2000 Ref

 

Bird almanac

QL 673 .B572 2004 Ref 

 

Cambridge illustrated glossary of botanical terms

QK 10 .H53 2000 Ref

 

Dictionary of gene technology

QH 506 .K333 2001 Ref

 

Dictionary of zoology

QL 9 .D53 2003 Ref

 

Encyclopedia of animal behavior

QL 750.3 .E53 2004 Ref

 

Encyclopedia of bioethics

QH 332 .E52 2004 Ref 

 

Starting your research

NEED HELP WITH YOUR LIBRARY RESEARCH? Start at the Library Services desk in the lobby of the new Library Learning Commons. 

The right side of the Library Services desk is for Research Assistance and is staffed by the librarians. The Librarians are there to help you navigate the wealth of information available to you and help you find the important information you are after. 

A good first step in research is defining your topic. Use the reference books listed in the boxes on this page, as well as other reference books to get a better understanding of your research topic. You will also find helpful information on our web site, for example under the "How do I?" link.

 

Reference e-books

Follow these links to reference works from the Oxford Reference Online collection. NOTE: If you are working from off campus, you will be prompted to enter the bar code number from your Bishop's ID before you will be granted access.

A dictionary of animal behavior

Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology

A dictionary of ecology

The encyclopedia of underwater life

A dictionary of plant sciences

The new encyclopedia of insects and their allies

The Oxford dictionary of sports science & medicine

The Oxford companion to the body

 

Hours

More Reference Books

 FRONT_1

Encyclopedia of evolution

QH 360.2 .E54 2002 Ref

 

Encyclopedia of genetics

QH 506 .E53 2004 Ref

 

Penguin dictionary of biology

QH 13 .P46 2004 Ref

 

Insects: their natural history and diversity

QL 473 .M33 2006 Ref

 

National Geographic field guide to the trees of North America

QK 110 .R78 2006 Ref