Skip to main content

Chemistry Research Guide: Where to Start

Resources for chemistry students. Contact us at the Reference Desk for help with your library research, by phone at (819) 822-9600, ext. 2608 or by email at reference@ubishops.ca

Science Reference books

Browse the QD call number area in the Science Reference section of the basement to find these books and other helpful resources.

Beilstein's Handbuch der organischen Chemie

QD 251 .B4 Sci Ref 

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics

QD 65 .C498 Sci Ref

Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis

QD 77 .E53 1995 Sci Ref

Lange's Handbook of chemistry

QD 65 .L36 1985 Sci Ref

Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals

RS 51 .M4 2006 Sci Ref

Starting your research

NEED HELP WITH YOUR LIBRARY RESEARCH? Start at the Library Services desk in the lobby of the new Library Learning Commons. 

The right side of the Library Services desk is for Research Assistance and is staffed by the librarians. The Librarians are there to help you navigate the wealth of information available to you and help you find the important information you are after. 

A good first step in research is defining your topic. Use the reference books listed in the boxes on this page, as well as other reference books to get a better understanding of your research topic. You will also find helpful information on our web site, for example under the "How do I?" link.

Reference e-books

Follow these links to reference works from the Oxford Reference Online collection. NOTE: If you are working from off campus, you will be prompted to enter the bar code number from your Bishop's ID before you will be granted access.

Dictionary of chemistry

Dictionary of weights, measures, and units

Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology

Reference Books

Browse the Q call number area of the Reference room to find other science reference books.

Encyclopedia of biological chemistry

QD 415 .A25 E53 2004 Ref 

McGraw Hill encyclopedia of science and technology

Q 121 .M3 2002 Ref

Scientific and technical acronyms, symbols, and abbreviations

Q 179 .E64 2001 Ref

Van Nostrand's scientific encyclopedia

Q 121 .V3 2008 Ref