Skip to main content

Theatre and Drama Guide: Where to Start

This Research Guide is intended for those in the Bishop's University community who wish to find information resources related to Theatre and Drama. This aid provides sources held at or accessible online from the Bishop's Library.

Need Help?

Reference Librarians are available to help you with your research. Check the library's website for hours and come by the Research Assistance desk located on the main floor of the Library Learning Commons.

You may also contact us by email:

reference@ubishops.ca

Contact us by telephone:

819-822-9600 extension 2608

Directories

Directory of theatre faculties in colleges and universities, U.S. and Canada. 

      PN 2078 .U5 D53 1982 Ref.

Dramatists sourcebook.

      PN 2289 .D73 1981 Ref.

Sourcebook for the performing arts: a directory of collections, resources, scholars, and critics in theatre, film, and television.

      PN 2289 .S65 1988 Ref.

Theatre listing.

      PN 2308.5 .T45 1989 Ref.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionnaire des Artistes du Théâtre Québécois

      PN 2305 .Q4 D53 2008 Ref.

The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre

         PN 2221 .C36 2007 Ref.

The Oxford Dictionary of Plays

         PN 1625 .P38 2005 Ref

The Oxford Companion to American Theatre

         PN 2220 .B6 2004 Ref.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance

         PN 2035 .O94 2003 Ref. Vols. 1 & 2

The Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre

         PN 2035 .C665 2002 Ref

The Oxford Companion to the American Musical : Theatre, Film, and Television

         ML 102 .M88 H593 2008 (Music Room Reference Materials)

The Oxford Companion to Canadian theatre

      PN 2301 .O94 1989 Ref.

The Oxford Companion to Theatre

      PN 2035 .O9 1985 Ref.

Brewer's Theatre: A Phrase and Fable Dictionary

      PN 2035 .B74 1994 Ref.   

Dictionnaire Encyclopédique du Théâtre

      PN 2035 .C67 1991 Ref.

International Dictionary of Theatre

      PN 2035 .I49 1992 Ref. Mezzanine

Theatre Language: A Dictionary of terms in English of the drama and stage from medieval to modern times

      PN 2035.B6 1961 Ref.

Analytical Sourcebook of Concepts in Dramatic Theory

      PN 1631 .B7 Z99 1981 Ref.