Skip to main content

Sociology Research Guide: Where to Start

This Research Guide is intended for those in the Bishop's University community who wish to find information resources related to Sociology. This aid provides sources held at or accessible online from the Bishop's Library.

Need Help?

Need help with your research? Start at the Library Services desk in the lobby of the new Library Learning Commons. 

The right side of the Library Services desk is for Research Assistance and is staffed by the librarians. The Librarians are there to help you navigate the wealth of information available to you and help you find the important information you are after. 

You may also contact us by email:

reference@ubishops.ca

Or, contact us by telephone:

819-822-9600 extension 2608

Hours: http://ubishops.ca.libguides.com/hours_location

 

 

Research the Terms of Your Subject Area

SOCIOLOGY SPECIFIC DICTIONARIES

Available in the Reference Room:

A Dictionary of Sociology

HM 425 .D5735 2005 REF

A Dictionary of Sociology

 

A New Dictionary of the Social Sciences

HM 425 .N49 2007 REF

   A New Dictionary of the Social Sciences 

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Sociology

HM 425 .C66 1998 REF


Critical Dictionary of Sociology

HM 425 .B6813 1989 REF


Dictionary of the Social Sciences

H 41 .D53 2002 REF


Encyclopedic Dictionary of Sociology

HM 425 .E53 1986 REF


Government, politics, and protest: essential primary sources

HN 13 .G68 2006 REF

    

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology

HM 425 .C36 2006 REF

 

SOCIOLOGY SPECIFIC ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Available in the Reference Room:

American Life: A Social History

HN 57 .E582 1998 REF

 
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000

HN 373 .E63 2001 REF


Encyclopedia of Social History  v.1-v.6

HN 28 .E53 1994 REF


Encyclopedia of Social Issues     v.1-v.6

HN 57 .E59 1997 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Social Work   v.1-v.4

HV 35 .E6 2008 REF


Encyclopedia of Sociology    v.1-v.5

HM 425 .E5 2000 REF


International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences    v.1-v.26

H 41 .I58 2001 REF


The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology     v.1-v.11

HM 425 .B53 2007 REF

SPECIAL SUBJECTS ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Available in the Reference Room:

Encyclopedia of Adolescence    v.1-v.2           

HQ 796 .E58 1990 REF


Encyclopedia of Aging

HQ 1061 .E53 1987 REF


Encyclopedia of Alcoholism

HV 5017 .E5 1982 REF

 

Encyclopedia of the American Left

HX 86 .E58 1990 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work

HV 12 .E53 2005 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice    v.1-v.4

HV 6017 .E52 2002 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Criminology        v.1-v.3

HV 6017 .E5295 2005 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Death

HQ 1073 .E54 1989 REF


Encyclopedia of Death and Dying

HQ 1073 .E543 200 REF


Encyclopedia of the Developing World     v.1-v.3

HC 59.7 .E52 2006 REF


Encyclopedia of Disability    v.1-v.5

HV 1568. E528 2006 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Drug Abuse

HV 5804 .O24 1984 REF


Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior    v.1-v.4

HV 5804 .E53 2001 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Genocide     v.1-v.2

HV 6322.7 .E53 1999 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity   v.1-v.3  

HV  6322.7 .E532 2005 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Homosexuality    v.1-v.2

HQ 76.25 .E53 1990 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Sex & Gender    v.1-v.4

HQ 16 .E52 2007 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Social Theory    v.1-v.2

HM 425 .E47 2005 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Terrorism

HV 6431 .K883 2003 REF

 

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict   v.1-v.3

HM 886 .E53 1999 REF

 

Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime   v.1-v.2

HV 6768 .E63 2005 REF


Encyclopedia of Women and Crime

HV 6046 .E56 2000 REF


Encyclopedia of Women and Gender   v.1-v.2           

HQ 1115 .E53 2001 REF

 

International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology

HM 548 .I57 2006 REF


Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women   v.1-v.4

HQ 1115 .R69 2000 REF

 

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture

HQ 76.96 .R68 2006 REF

 

The Encyclopedia of Serial Killers

HV 6515 .N48 2000 REF

           
World Encyclopedia of Cities   v.1-v.2           

HT 108.5 .K87 1994 REF

GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Available in the Reference Room:

Americana

AE 5 .E3331 REF

 

Britannica

AE 5 .E364 REF

 

Collins

AE 5 .C683 REF

 

World Book

AE 5 .W55 REF

 

 

Subject Guide

Eliza McKnight's picture
Eliza McKnight
Contact:
Bishop's University Library Learning Commons
2600 College
Sherbrooke, QC
J1M 1Z7
819-822-9600-2802
Website